She Way Out

She looked at me with eyes that stirred air so cool
It promised lightning bolts
And thunder in rhythmic strikes of a heartbeat
And the rising of ribcages and falling of sledgehammers
Upon bone and marrow that glows
Red then orange then yellow and white

She looked at me through eyes rising from the ashes
The inferno that engulfs the earth pressed upon her
A falling rib cage seared by scorched earth
Our bones ache only while the flesh is on them

A sudden rush to the head with bones
Borne helplessly flowing in a magnetic flood
I must fight the currents
I must not be dragged to her – but she to I
Like thunder strikes chasing lightning bolts
And the way I don’t see the flashes
but hear the echoes
She looked at me

I drown

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

